Next message: Ron Rogers: "Re: lv-ab: Boat Yard Blues"
Dear Live-Aboards,
A couple of weeks ago I got thoroughly mystified when one of our members got
an e-mail virus from "liveaboard" at some IP number. Well, today I got the
same virus sent from the same source , and all became clear. One of our
other members has an infected computer, which replies to emails he receives.
It just so happened that his computer responded to my test message of the
other day, which I sent from Pasadena.
I have removed the infected member from the list, and blocked his whole ISP
until I get the all-clear that his computer has been fumigated. If any of
you have received the Snow White virus "dw*rf4you.exe" purporting to be from
"h*h*h*" (sustitute an 'a'), but really from a dial-up on ghg.net, please
let me know, IF YOU HAVE NOT POSTED ANYTHING TO THE LIST OVER THE PAST TWO
MONTHS. I expect that if you have posted, you probably have received the
same "present" ... There is no evidence that the virus has been transmitted
via the list itself.
Cheers!
Stefan
--
Stefan W. Mochnacki S/Y "Somewhere"
======== In Pasadena, CA, 17 May 2001 - 31 August 2002 ==========
___________________________________________________________________________
|| The Live-Aboard List : send a "subscribe" or "unsubscribe" request ||
|| in body of message to: ||